Come see our new exhibition INDECENCIA on display during our open hours: Wednesday 12-5PM and Thursday-Sunday 12-6PM!



The Leslie Lohman Artist Fellowship is a program designed to empower and support queer artists. To date it has served three cohorts, 2017 – 2018, 2018 – 2019, 2019 – 2020 with the next cohort set for 2020 –2021. Fellows participate in a series of professional development workshops that provide art business skills, strategic planning, peer to peer learning, mentorship and community building across disciplines to create a sustainable art practice. A seminar series brings critical discourse and historical context to the program, with topics including queer history, representation, intersectionality and reparations. Fellows will also take part in a biannual curated group exhibition at the Museum. Since its inception, the Fellowship has centered queer artists of color from a wide range of cultural experience.

Ela Troyano, Fellowship Director, leads the professional development workshops. She brings a 35-year track record as an interdisciplinary artist, working both with underground and commercial markets and 13 years of work in professional development for artists—as a lecturer, workshop leader and individual coach.

Aliza Shvarts, Faculty, leads the seminar series. Shvarts is an artist and a theorist who takes a queer and feminist approach to reproductive labor and language. She holds a BA from Yale, a PhD in Performance Studies from NYU, and was a Critical Studies Fellow at the Whitney Independent Study Program.

Past participants:

2020 – 2021

Anna Parisi

Bassem Saad

Eva Wo

Felicita Maynard

Kearra Amaya Gopee

Leasho Johnso

Maksaens Denis

Maria Jose Maldonad

Patti Cruz

Po Rodi

Shikeith Cathay

Sinan Tuncay

Vick Quezada

2019 – 2020

Alison Viana

Aranxta Araujo

Arisleyda Dilone

Evan Paul English

Fernando Vieira (IG)

Heather Marie Scholl

Heather Lynn Johnson

LeAndra LeSeur

Monique "Muse" Dodd

Sarah E. Brook

Sarp Kerem Yavuz

Stefa Marin Alarcon

2018 – 2019

Boris Torres

Caitlin Rose Sweet

Carrie Hawks

Christopher Unpezverde Núñez

Gwen Shockey

Kiyan Hazim Williams

Kristine Eudey

Max Colby

Michael Childress

Salvador Muñoz

Seyi Adebanjo

2017 - 2018

Desireena Almoradie

Lola Flash (IG studio visit)

Nash C Glynn (IG studio visit)

Rodrigo Moreira

Eric Rhein

Vanessa Rondon

Catalina Schliebener (IG studio visit)

Buzz Slutzky

Eduardo Shlomo Velazquez

Jason Villegas (IG studio visit)

Frederick Weston