Created by our founders to preserve LGBTQ identity and build community, the Leslie-Lohman Museum of Gay and Lesbian Art aspires to reclaim scholarship from a queer perspective, provide a training ground for queer artists and cultural workers to examine the juxtaposition between art and social justice in ways that provoke dialogue and thought, while acting as a cultural hub for LGBTQ individuals and their communities.

The Leslie-Lohman Museum is the only dedicated LGBTQ art museum in the world with a mission to exhibit and preserve LGBTQ art and foster the artists who create it. The Museum has over 30,000 objects in its collections, spanning more than three centuries of queer art.



Charles W. Leslie, Director Emeritus
J. Frederic “Fritz” Lohman, (1922-2009)

Cynthia Powell, President
Deborah Bright, Vice-President
Meryl A. Allison, Treasurer
James Saslow, Clerk 
Daniel S. Berger
Martell French
Steve Goldstein
Hunter O’Hanian
Michael Manganiello
Robert W. Richards
Margaret Rose Vendryes
Peter Weiermair
Jeff Weinstein

Gonzalo Casals, Director
Rob Hugh Rosen, Deputy Director for Exhibitions
Jerry Kajpust, Deputy Director for External Relations
Branden Wallace, Registrar
Garrett Guilbeau, Deputy Director for Finance and Human Resources
Riya Lerner, Membership and Outreach Coordinator
Noam Parness, Exhibitions Assistant
Daniel Sander, Collections and Administrative Assistant
Nirvana Santos, Education and Administrative Assistant
Vernon Payne, Administrative Assistant
Nicole Brinson, Visitor Service Assistant